搭载轮毂电机的车辆不需要差速器,轮毂电机可以直接且独立地向每个车轮传递转矩。

道路上大多数车辆都是由一个发动机或电机驱动的,将动力传递到车轮上,在轮毂处产生转矩。车轮必须能够自由地以不同的速度相互移动,以适应转弯和路面的变化。

这种是通过差速器来实现的。差速器是一种机械装置,其最简单的形式是给车桥上的两个轮子提供相同的扭矩,同时允许它们以不同的速度旋转,然后车轮可以根据车辆的运动学以自然速度旋转。

所谓的“开式差速器”允许一个轴上两个车轮之间存在任何车轮速度差异。当两个车轮的轮胎和路面之间的摩擦力不同时,摩擦力小的轮子就会失去牵引力,迅速地向上旋转。这可能发生在转弯时,当车辆的重量转移到外轮上,使得内轮在路面上几乎没有牵引力,或者一个车轮在抓地力差的路面上时,例如在冰上或松散的石头上。

这种情况显然是不可取的,因此开发了几个系统来抵消牵引力的损失,同时仍然允许转矩施加到具有良好路面摩擦力的车轮上。最常用的是“限滑差速器”,或者使用牵引控制系统(TCS)来防止车轮自旋。前者是一个更精细的机械等效的开放差速器,它限制了车轮之间的速度差异,而后者应用刹车使车轮失去牵引力,以防止它旋转起来。

 

图 1: Protean Electric集成电子制动器的轮毂电机

更复杂的“转矩矢量控制”系统增强了车辆操纵性,但由于其复杂性和成本,这种系统很少见。

轮毂电机驱动不需要差速器,这样会出现一个问题,车辆将如何表现在轮速方面,以及如何解决与缺乏牵引力有关的问题。答案相当直接。

如果通过每个轮毂电机的扭矩需求相同,那么车辆就会完全像有一个开放差速器一样。牵引控制系统可以用来控制牵引力消耗,就像是一辆传统车一样。另一方面,通过动态的给每个轮毂电机分配不同的转矩,可以提高车辆的行驶平稳性和操控性。

 

轮毂电机系统

在本文中,轮毂电机系统被认为成对安装的,前驱两个或后驱。每台轮毂电机包括电子机械、微处理器控制的逆变器和摩擦制动器。在Protean Electric公司的产品中,这些部件被集成到一个封装中,这个封装完全安装在轮辋内(见图1),但也可以将逆变器安装在车辆的其他位置。

轮毂电机可以提供正(加速)转矩和负(制动)转矩,但保留了摩擦制动器,因为制动要求通常超过了电机本身能力和有时整车电子系统出现无法接受制动过程中再生的电流。

 

图 2: 轮毂电机控制原理图

轮毂电机是直接产生转矩的。以Protean Electric的电机为例,整车控制单元 (VCU) 通过控制器区域网络 (CAN) 总线每隔几毫秒发送一次转矩要求(见图2)与电机系统通信。电机系统在轮毂处产生所需转矩作为响应。通过返回电机报告其健康状态和最大可用扭矩。它还可以记录它的速度,这样VCU可以用于先进的牵引控制功能。

与内燃机不同,轮毂电机可以在两个不同方向上都能产生正转矩和负转矩。这被称为四象限操作,轮毂电机电驱动系统可以加强牵引力控制和车辆的稳定性功能。此外,轮毂电机电驱动系统具有非常快的响应速度。它们通常能够在不到10毫秒的时间内从最大正转矩切换到最大负转矩,反之亦然。高频控制是可以提高整车安全性和操控性的,特别是直接驱动的轮毂电机,没有任何中间轴,轴或齿轮,直接给轮毂提供转矩。

注解:轮毂电机不是一个速度控制装置。整车控制器不能从轮毂电机系统中指令一个速度。对比传统动力总成,轮毂电机车轮速度是转矩与汽车惯性主导的旋转阻力作用在轮毂上的结果。

 

差速器和相关功能

当仅有内燃机或一个电动机作为单一的动力单元时,驱动一个轴上的两个轮子时,是需要一个差速器。没有差速器,车轴上的两个车轮将被迫以相同的速度旋转,这将导致无法操控车辆和避免轮胎磨损。差速器也是最终的传动比,放大从驱动轴到车轴的转矩(见图3)。

 

图 3: 传统后驱车上的差速器

由于不是物理性的连接非驱动轮是不需要差速器的,因此可以以不同的速度自由旋转。

 

开式差速器

开式差速器是路跑车辆上最简单最普遍的一种差速器。车轮速度是由整车动力学决定的,且受轮胎动态变化轻微调整。

在转弯过程中,不考虑车轮打滑,外轮的转速会比内轮快。在一辆车轨道宽度为t,滚动半径为r的车辆中,以速度v绕半径为R的弯道行驶,内轮和外轮的近似角速度是由方程式Eqn.得出1

(1)

 

 

 

注解:这只是单纯的几何算法结果,实际情况是车轮独立自由旋转,;在这里不依赖于提供给车轮的转矩(见图4)。

轮胎动力学对Eqn. 1作了轻微的修正。给车轮施加转矩会产生所谓的车轮滑移 [1]。这并不意味着轮胎和路面之间有任何牵引力的损失; 相反,这是轮胎动力的一个特征。结果表明,车轮转速与车速之间的关系调整是根据:

 

其中s为滑移比。滑移比是转矩的函数,也是轮胎和轮胎-路面界面[2]性能的函数。在良好的路面上保持良好的牵引力并施加高转矩时,滑移率可超过0,1。考虑到由于路面不同,导致内外车轮的滑移可能不同,我们在方式Eqn. 2中得到了车轮速度。

(2)

 

既然滑移是转矩的函数,那么现在每个车轮对转矩都有一定的依赖性。

对Eqn. 1作进一步的较小调整,这些调整是由于车辆转向不足或转向过度以及路面波动造成的,但它们与本讨论无关。

重要的结论是依赖于驱动轮和差速器的行为:

  • 假如每个车轮得到同等转矩,且同轴上的两个车轮是可以以不同的速度自由旋转的,那么车速就完全确定了。
  • 在转弯过程中,车轮能够找到“自然”的速度就可以实现良好的操控性和保护轮胎。

只要这两个假设成立,就不用管它们是如何成立的。

 

轮毂电机与开放式差速器

最简单的方式控制一根车轴上一对轮毂电机传递相同的转矩。

只要整车控制器要求两个轮毂电机具有相同的扭矩,那么无论转速有多大差异,两个车轮都将以相同的转矩驱动。

搭载轮毂电机的车辆中,驱动轮与轴没有物理连接,因此它们不受限于以相同速度旋转。与开式差速器一样,它们可以自由地以不同的速度旋转,没有任何约束。

因此在轮毂电机驱动情况下,这两个假设也是成立的,因此Eqn.1也适用:如果整车控制器对每个轮毂电机指令相同的转矩,那么轮毂电机驱动的车辆轮胎行为和一个中央电机通过开式差速器驱动车辆轮胎行为是一模一样的。

 

图 4: 转弯车辆阿克曼几何图

虽然没有物理的机械微分, 我们将提到这种方式的控制车轮内马达作为 “电开式差速器”。

开式差速器的局限性

 

 

开式差速器和电开式差速器具有相同的局限性,当一个车轴上的一个车轮对路面的牵引力明显好于另一个车轮时,例如:

  • 可提供给每个车轮的最大转矩受限于车轮与较低的牵引力。
  • 如果施加给车轮的转矩超出路面的接触面所能承受的,那么就没有什么较低的牵引力能阻止车轮自转。

有几种情况可能导致一个车轴上有不对称的牵引力限制出现:

 

  • 转弯时,重量转移到外部车轮,减少对内部车轮的牵引限制;
  • “分割-μ”路面, 就是一个轮子在良好的路面上,另一轮子是在松动的石子路上或冰面或湿滑路面;
  • 越野驾驶。

当出现这些情境时,传统汽车有一系列的技术可以用来阻止车轮自转或失去扭矩。本文将展开讨论轮毂电机在此类情境下的操作。

牵引控制系统

牵引控制系统是为了防止车轮由于缺少与路面接触的牵引力而自转起来。它是作为电子稳定控制系统的一部分,该系统可以使用防抱死制动系统(ABS)单元将制动器单独应用到车轮上。电子稳定控制系统越来越普遍,现在在欧洲和美国的乘用车上已使用。

牵引力控制系统检测到一个轮子在自转,那么就对其实施制动。除了控制牵引力消失,甚至用开放式差速器或电子开放式差速器还可以给对侧车轮施加转矩,,因为制动器抵消了旋转轮上动力总成产生的转矩。

轮毂电机使用的牵引力控制系统可以准确地应用在传统车辆上,产生想用的效果。对整车控制器没有特别的操作要求。

另一方面,搭载轮毂电机的车辆无需使用基于制动的ESC系统就可以控制手动牵引力。整车控制器使用轮毂电机传递的轮速信息来确定车轮何时失去牵引力 和 降低该轮的转矩需求。这可以在不降低对另一个车轮的转矩要求的情况下完成。由于轮毂电机驱动系统的快速响应能力和电机产生正转矩和负转矩的能力,其性能优于传统的牵引力控制系统。我们可以将其称为电子牵引力控制系统。

电子牵引力控制系统与驱动防滑系统有些相似,都是一些传统汽车牵引力控制系统的一部分,且都包含发动机转矩调制。

限滑差速器

限滑差速器是一个更复杂的机械差速器。生产中有很多不同的部件,包括一些差速器有电子控制元件。这里谈及的都是“主动式差速器”。

相比总是向同轴上两个车轮传递相同转矩的开放式差速器,限滑差速器是根据两个车轮相关速度,增加一个机械结构来限制两个输出轴之间的速度差异实现转矩分配。尽管这克服了开放式差速器主要限制,但也导致转向时需提供更多的转矩给内轮,形成转向不足。

在轮毂电机驱动的车辆中,整车控制器可以根据两个电机报告的速度来给两个电机不同的转矩,这与限滑差速器完全类似。然而,在实践中,当没有失去牵引力时,限滑差速器并不能给出最优的转矩分配。具有扭矩矢量控制的电子牵引力控制系统将提供卓越的操控性和牵引力控制。

在具有限滑差速器的传统车辆中,可以在不显著降低最大总轴转矩的情况下,提供跨轴的不对称转矩。另一方面,使用轮毂电机,减少一个车轮上的转矩并不会增加超出其对侧车轮最大承受扭矩。这也就意味着,转矩的不对称性是可以减少一个轴上两个轮毂电机的可用总转矩。

 

锁式差速器

锁式差速器可以有效的应用于越野车辆,其车轮牵引力很差,非常多变。锁式差速器式将同轴上的两个车轮以相同的速度旋转。然后根据牵引力,扭矩自然地移动。

在轮毂电机驱动下,整车控制器可以在每个驱动轮上实现速度控制回路,产生相同的效果。正如前面所描述的,轮毂电机本身不包含速度控制,但是电机和整车控制器之间的通信有足够的带宽使整车控制器运行控制回路来调节车轮速度。

 

主动差速器

主动差速器是在一些高性能车辆上实现的一种现代系统,它通过主动管理转矩分布来改善操控性。这种系统响应车辆周围的各种传感器,这些传感器监视驾驶员的意图和车辆的响应,并由电子控制器进行解释。然后ECU指示一个可以根据需要分配扭矩的电子控制的差速器。除了牵引力控制,这样的系统还可以提高操控性和稳定性。从机械上看,主动差速器可以视为一个电子控制的限滑差速器。两个离合器包通常可以通过电子控制来将扭矩从一个轴传递到另一个轴上,从而在车辆动力学控制系统的控制下改变底层开放式差速器的性能。例如在宝马X63上实现的GKN电子转矩矢量控制模块就是使用这个系统。

电控差速器是一种复杂而昂贵的元件。在轮毂电机驱动的电动汽车中,不需要添加机械部件也可以实现类似的功能。在这种情况下,整车控制器执行的计算与电子控制器对主动差速器执行的计算类似,并相应地对两轮毂电机提出不对称扭矩要求。这有时被称为转矩矢量控制,可用于:

 

  • 提高车辆在高速行驶时的稳定性。
  • 改善车辆在遇到侧风或车辙等干扰时的稳定性。
  • 提高车辆在低速时的灵活性。
  • 改善转向控制。

 

在传统汽车中,采用轮毂电机的扭矩矢量控制优于主动差速器,这不仅从部件成本和质量方面考虑,还因为该系统响应速度更快,能够更好地应对瞬态情况。它还可以无缝地注入制动扭矩,而无需使用制动系统,从而扩展了系统维护整车控制的能力。

 

传统车辆与使用轮毂电机的车辆的等效性

表1总结了各种差速器和相关系统应用于中央内燃机或电机的传统汽车,并描述了使用轮毂电机的可以实现相同的性能要求。

一般来说,采用轮毂电机的汽车车轮速度管理和车辆操纵性优于一辆传统车,并且降低复杂程度和成本。

 

全驱

这个讨论已经考虑了一对前轮驱动或一对后轮驱动的车辆。所有的结论都同样适用于四个车轮都装载轮毂电机的全驱车辆。

例如,给四个轮毂电机传递相同的转矩等同于一辆传统的四驱车加前轴开放式差速器和后轴开放式差速器。四个车轮可一自由独立转动并且以相同的转矩分配到每个轮毂。

总结

与通过差速器将动力传递给车轮的传统汽车相比,轮毂电机驱动的汽车提供了以更低的成本和更低的复杂性改善整车动力学控制的可能性。

表1:传统车与轮毂电机汽车的等效性
传统汽车系统 等效于轮毂电机驱动汽车
开式差速器 对两个电机需求同等转矩
基于牵引力控制系统的电子稳定控制系统 与传统车辆一样,基于牵引力控制的电子稳定控制系统,或降低了对打滑车轮的转矩要求
限滑差速器 根据差速器的转速降低转矩
锁式差速器 在整车控制器中实现每个轮毂电机的速度控制回路
主动差速器 整车控制器转矩矢量控制

 

对于装载轮毂电机的车辆,最简单的整车控制是始终要求所有电机具有相同的扭矩,这就和传统车配合开放式差速器的车辆具有完全相同的性能,省去机械差速器和车桥。也等同于带制动器的牵引力控制系统或稳定控制系统的传统车带有这样的 性能,可以防止车辆在转向或在低牵引力面时打滑。另一方面, 相比于传统车需要繁重昂贵的机械系统,例如主动式差速器,来实现这样的功能,轮毂电机可以通过改善后的牵引力控制系统和转矩矢量控制来调制转矩,无需额外增加部件。

 

引用

[1] M Blundell and D Harty: 整车动力学多种体系方法, 牛津, 英国: 北海-Heinemann, 2004。

[2] HB Pacejka: 轮胎和车动力学, 牛津, 英国: 北海-Heinemann 2002。

[3] 吉凯恩 plc。(2016, 3月10日): “电子扭矩矢量控制” (在线), 可访问: www.gkn.com/driveline/our-solutions/trans-axle-solutions/limited-slip-and-locking-differentials/Pages/electronic扭矩矢量. aspx

咨询,请联系:

gabriel.donaldson@proteanelectric.com.

NEWS


Wheel torque and speed in vehicles with in-wheel motors


For full article, click here.

Vehicles driven by in-wheel electric motors do not have a differential but deliver torque directly and independently to the wheels.

Most road vehicles are powered by a single engine or motor with a drive-line transferring that power to the wheels, generating torque at the wheel hubs. The wheels must be free to move at different speeds to one another to allow for cornering and variations in road surface.

This is achieved with the differential, a mechanical device which, in its simplest form, delivers equal torque to both wheels on an axle while allowing them to rotate at different speeds. Wheels can then rotate at their natural speeds as determined by the kinematics of the vehicle.

The so-called “open differential” allows any amount of wheel speed difference across an axle. Where the friction force available between tyre and road is very different on one wheel to the other, the wheel with lower friction can lose traction and spin up rapidly. This can occur during cornering, when the vehicle’s weight shifts to the outside wheels so that the inside wheels have little traction on the road surface, or when one wheel is on a surface with poor grip, for example on ice or loose stones.

This situation is clearly undesirable and several systems have therefore been developed to counteract the loss of traction while still allowing torque to be applied to the wheel with good road friction. A “limited-slip differential” is employed most commonly, or a traction control system (TCS) is used to prevent wheel spin-up. The former is a more elaborate mechanical equivalent of the open differential which limits the wheel speed differential while the latter applies the brake to a wheel which is losing traction, to prevent it spinning up.

Fig. 1: Protean Electric’s in-wheel electric motor integrating electronics and brake.

More complicated “torque vectoring” systems provide further enhancements to vehicle handling, but are rare due to their complexity and cost.

Vehicles powered by in-wheel motors do not have a differential so the question arises as to how the vehicle will behave in terms of wheel speeds and how problems associated with lack of traction can be addressed. The answers are rather straight-forward.

If the wheel-motors are controlled by making the same torque demand of each of the motors, the vehicle will behave exactly as if there were an open differential. The traction control system can be used to control loss of traction, as in a conventional vehicle. On the other hand, enhanced vehicle ride and handling can be achieved by varying the torque distribution among the wheel motors dynamically.

The in-wheel motor system

For the purposes of this article, the in-wheel motor system is considered to consist of two units installed on opposite sides of the vehicle, one in each front wheel or one in each rear wheel. Each unit comprises the electrical machine, inverter with microprocessor control and a friction brake. In the case of Protean Electric’s products, these are integrated into a single package which is housed entirely within the wheel rim (see Fig. 1), but it would also be possible to house the inverter elsewhere in the vehicle.

The motor can provide both positive (accelerating) and negative (braking) torque, but friction brakes are retained as the braking requirements usually exceed the ability of the motor and for occasions where the vehicle’s electrical system is unable to accept the current that is regenerated during braking.

Fig. 2: Schematic of control in in-wheel electric motors.

The in-wheel motor is a torque producing device. In the example of Protean Electric’s motor, the vehicle control unit (VCU) communicates with the motor system via a controller area network (CAN) bus, sending torque demands every few milliseconds (see Fig. 2). In response, the motor system develops the demanded torque at the wheel hub. By return the motor reports its state of health and the maximum available torque. It can also report its speed which the VCU may use for advanced traction control functions.

Unlike internal combustion engines, electric motors can produce positive and negative torque in both directions. This is referred to as four quadrant operation and allows drive-trains with electric motors to enhance traction control and vehicle stability functions. Furthermore, electric motor systems have very fast response times. They are typically capable of switching from maximum positive torque to maximum negative torque or vice versa in less than 10 ms. High-frequency control is possible which can improve safety and handling of the vehicle, particularly with direct-drive in-wheel motors which provide torque directly at the wheel hubs without any intermediary shafts, axles or gears.

Note that the motor is not a speed-controlled device. The VCU cannot demand a speed from the motor system. As with a conventional drive-trains, the wheel speeds are a consequence of the torque applied at the wheel hub, combined with the resistance to rotation which is dominated by the vehicle inertia.

Differential and related functions

A differential is required where a single power unit, internal combustion engine or electric motor, is used to drive two wheels on an axle. Without it, the two wheels on the axle would be constrained to rotate at the same speed, which would lead to unacceptable vehicle handling and tyre wear. The differential is also the final gear ratio, amplifying torque from the drive-shaft to the axle shafts (see Fig. 3).

Fig. 3: Conventional rear-wheel drive vehicle showing the differential.

No differential is required for the non-driven wheels as they are not physically connected and are therefore free to rotate at different speeds.

Open differential

An open differential is the simplest and most common type of differential on road vehicles. The speeds of the wheels are determined by the vehicle kinematics, slightly modified by tyre dynamics.

Ignoring wheel slip, during cornering, the outer wheel will rotate faster than the inner wheel. In a vehicle with track width t and rolling radius r, traveling at speed v around a bend of radius R, the approximate angular speeds of the inner and outer wheels are given by Eqn. 1

(1)

 

 

Note that this is purely a result of the geometry of the situation and the fact that the wheels are free to rotate independently; there is no dependence here on the torque being provided to the wheels (see Fig. 4).

Accounting for tyre dynamics modifies Eqn. 1 slightly. The application of torque at a wheel results in so-called wheel-slip [1]. This does not mean that there is any loss of traction between the tyre and road; rather, it is a feature of the dynamics of the tyre. The result is that the relationship between the speed of rotation of the wheel and vehicle speed is modified according to:

 

 

where s is the slip ratio. The slip ratio is a function of the torque applied and also of the properties of the tyre and the tyre-road interface [2]. The slip ratio can exceed 0,1 while good traction is maintained on a good road surface and with high torque applied. Accounting for slip, which may be different for the inner and outer wheels due to road surface differences, we obtain the wheel speeds in Eqn. 2.

(2)

 

 

Since slip is a function of torque, there is now some dependence on the torque at each of the wheels.

There are further minor modifications to Eqn. 1 which result from understeer or oversteer properties of the vehicle and road surface undulations, but they are not relevant to this discussion.

The important conclusions relating to the behaviour of driven wheels with an open differential are:

  • The wheel speeds are completely determined after making the assumptions that equal torque is supplied to each wheel and that the two wheels on the axle are free to rotate at different speeds.
  • The wheels find their “natural” speed which results in good handling and tyre behaviour during cornering.

As long as these two assumptions are true, it does not matter how they are achieved.

In-wheel motors and the open differential

The simplest way to control a pair of in-wheel electric motors on an axle is to demand equal torque of both motors.

Both wheels will be driven with the same torque regardless of any speed difference, as long as the VCU demands the same torque from both motors.

In a vehicle with in-wheel motors, the driven wheels are not physically connected by axle shafts, so they are not constrained to rotate at the same speed. As with an open differential, they are free to rotate at different speeds without constraints.

The two assumptions are therefore true in a vehicle driven by in-wheel motors, and Eqn.1 therefore also applies: The behaviour of the wheels in a vehicle powered by in-wheel electric motors is exactly the same as the behaviour in a vehicle with a central power unit driven through an open differential if equal torque is demanded of each in-wheel motor by the VCU.

Fig. 4: Ackerman geometry of a turning vehicle.

Although there is no physical mechanical differential, we will refer to this mode of controlling the in-wheel motors as the “electronic open differential”.

Limitations of the open differential

The open differential and electronic open differential suffer from the same limitations which occur when one wheel on an axle has significantly better traction with the road than the other, in which case:

  • The maximum torque that can be supplied to either wheel is limited by the wheel with the lower traction limit.
  • There is nothing to prevent the wheel with lower traction from spinning up if more torque is applied than the tyre-road interface can support.

There are several circumstances which can result in asymmetric traction limits across an axle:

  • Cornering, where weight shifts to the outer wheels, reducing the traction limit on the inner wheels.
  • “Split-μ” road surface, where one wheel is on a good road surface and the other on loose stones, ice or water.
  • Off-road driving.

In conventional vehicles, there are a number of technologies employed to prevent a wheel spinning up and loss of torque capability in these circumstances. Some of these, and their equivalents for in-wheel motors, are discussed in this article.

Traction control system

A traction control system is designed to prevent a wheel from spinning up due to lack of traction with the road surface. It is implemented as part of the electronic stability control (ESC) system, which can apply the brakes individually to a wheel using the anti-lock braking system (ABS) unit. ESC is increasingly common and is now mandated in Europe and the USA for passenger vehicles.

The traction control system detects that a wheel is spinning up and applies the brake to that wheel. In addition to controlling loss of traction, this allows torque to be applied to the opposite wheel, even with an open differential or electronic open differential, since the brake counteracts the torque applied by the drive-train to the spinning wheel.

The TCS can be used with in-wheel motors in exactly the same way as it is in conventional vehicles, with the same results. No special action is required by the VCU.

Hand traction, on the other, can be controlled without the use of the brake-based ESC system in an in-wheel motor driven vehicle. The VCU uses the wheel speed information communicated by the in-wheel motors to determine when traction is being lost and reduces the torque demand on that wheel. This can be done without reducing the torque demand to the other wheel. The result can be superior to the action of a conventional TCS because of the fast response time of the in-wheel motor system and the ability of the motors to produce both positive and negative torque. We can refer to this as an electronic traction control system (eTCS).

The eTCS is somewhat similar to Antriebsshlupfregelung (ASR) systems which are part of the traction control system in some conventional vehicles and incorporate the modulation of engine torque.

Limited-slip differential

The limited-slip differential is a more complex form of mechanical differential. There are a number of different implementations in production, including some that have an element of electronic control. These are discussed separately here as “active differentials”.

In contrast to the open differential, which always distributes torque equally to the two wheels on an axle, the limited-slip differential distributes torque according to the relative speeds of the two wheels, which is achieved by adding a mechanism that resists relative speed differences between the two output shafts. Torque is reduced on the faster wheel and increased on the slower wheel, which prevents a wheel from spinning up while not reducing overall torque. Although this overcomes the main limitations of the open differential, it also results in greater torque provided to the inner wheels during cornering, which causes understeer.

In vehicles driven by in-wheel motors, the VCU can demand unequal torque from the two motors in response to the speeds reported by the motors in an exactly analogous way to the limited-slip differential. In practice, however, this does not give optimal torque distribution when there is no loss of traction. The eTCS with torque vectoring will give superior handling and traction control.

In a conventional vehicle with a limited-slip differential, it is possible to provide asymmetric torque across the axle without reducing the maximum total axle torque significantly. With in-wheel motors, on the other hand, the reduction of torque on one wheel does not allow an increase in torque of the opposite wheel beyond its maximum torque capability. This inevitably means that the total axle torque available from the two in-wheel motors is reduced by the torque asymmetry.

Locked differential

A locked differential can be effective for an off-road vehicle where the traction at the wheels is poor and very variable. The locked differential constrains the two wheels on an axle to rotate at the same speed. Torque is then naturally moved to where there is traction.

With in-wheel motors, the VCU can implement speed control loops on each of the driven wheels to achieve the same effect. As described here, the motors themselves do not incorporate speed control but the communication between motors and the VCU has sufficient bandwidth to enable the vehicle control unit (VCU) to run control loops to regulate the wheel speeds.

Active differential

The active differential is a modern system implemented on some performance vehicles which improves handling and control by actively managing the torque distribution. The system responds to various sensors around the vehicle which monitor the driver intent and the vehicle response, which are interpreted by the electronic control unit (ECU). The ECU then instructs an electronically controlled differential which can distribute torque as demanded. Apart from traction control, such a system can improve handling and stability. Mechanically, an active differential is implemented as an electronically controlled limited-slip differential. Two clutch packs can typically be controlled electronically to transfer torque from one axle shaft to the other, so modifying the behaviour of the underlying open differential under the control of vehicle dynamics control systems in the vehicle. An example of such a system is the GKN electronic torque vectoring module implemented in the BMW X63.

The electronically controlled differential is a complex and expensive component. Similar functionality can be achieved without the addition of mechanical components in an in-wheel electric motor driven vehicle. In this case, the VCU performs similar calculations to those that the ECU would perform for an active differential, and makes asymmetric torque demands to the two wheel motors accordingly. This is sometimes known as torque vectoring and can be used to:

  • Improve vehicle stability at high speeds.
  • Improve vehicle stability in the presence of disturbances such as side-wind or ruts in the road.
  • Improve vehicle agility at low speeds.
  • Improve cornering feel and control.

Torque vectoring with in-wheel motors is advantageous over an active differential in a conventional vehicle, not only from a component cost and mass perspective, but also because the system is more responsive and can react better to transient situations. It can also inject braking torque seamlessly, without using the braking system which extends the system’s ability to maintain vehicle control.

Equivalence of conventional vehicle and in-wheel motor vehicle

Table 1 summarises various differential and related systems found on conventional vehicles with a central combustion engine or electric motor, and describes the implementation on an in-wheel motor driven vehicle that results in the same behaviour.

In general, wheel speed management and, therefore, vehicle handling in an in-wheel motor vehicle can be superior to a conventional vehicle, and implemented with less complexity and cost.

All-wheel drive

This discussion has considered a pair of driven front wheels or a pair of driven rear wheels on a vehicle. All conclusions apply equally to a vehicle with in-wheel motors on all four wheels.

For instance, sending equal torque demand to all four in-wheel motors gives exactly equivalent behaviour to a conventional all-wheel drive vehicle with open-differentials front and rear and an open centre differential. All four wheels are free to rotate independently and equal torque is applied to each wheel hub.

Conclusion

In-wheel electric motors offer the possibility of improved vehicle dynamics control at lower cost and complexity relative to conventional vehicles that transfer power to wheels via a differential.

Table 1: Equivalence of conventional and IWM vehicle.
Conventional vehicle system Equivalent for in-wheel motor driven vehicles
Open differential Equal torque demand to both motors
ESC based traction control ESC based traction control as in conventional vehicle, or reduce torque demand on slipping wheel
Limited slip differential Reduce torque fraction to faster wheel according to differential speed
Locked differential Implement speed control loops for each motor in VCU
Active differential Torque vectoring function in VCU

The simplest implementation of vehicle control for in-wheel motors, always demanding equal torque from all motors, will result in behaviour exactly the same as in a vehicle with an open differential, but without the need for the mechanical differential or axle shafts. This behaviour can be overlaid with the same brake-based traction and/or stability control systems as used in conventional vehicles to prevent wheels from spinning up during cornering or on low traction surfaces. On the other hand, improved traction control and torque vectoring functions can be achieved with no added bill-of-materials by modulating the torque demanded of the electric motors, in contrast to conventional vehicles which require complex, heavy and expensive mechanical systems such as an active differential to achieve a similar result.

References

[1] M Blundell and D Harty: The multibody systems approach to vehicle dynamics, Oxford, UK: Butterworth-Heinemann, 2004.
[2] HB Pacejka: Tire and vehicle dynamics, Oxford, UK: Butterworth-Heinemann, 2002.
[3] GKN plc. (2016, March 10): “Electronic torque vectoring” (online), available: www.gkn.com/driveline/our-solutions/trans-axle-solutions/limited-slip-and-locking-differentials/Pages/electronic torque-vectoring.aspx

Contact Gabriel Donaldson, Protean Electric, gabriel.donaldson@proteanelectric.com