直驱

Protean从一开始时对轮毂电机的设计要求就是杜绝在电机内使用机械齿轮以及用于电机的所有必要轴承、润滑油和密封件。这样设计有以下几个原因:

    


可靠性/安全性

  • 电机的可靠性对其成功与否至关重要。制造高扭矩/低转速电机没有可靠的成本,但附加减速箱时会产生相应的成本,尤其是许多车辆要求配备四个单独的减速箱。
  • 一台减速箱可能会导致单一车轮锁定并造成单点故障,并在车辆行驶过程中引起巨大的方向偏移造成安全隐患。现在没有车辆会为了缓解此损失而在每个车轮上都加载一个减速箱。
  • 高可靠性的电机将被用来在未来的后驱平台中实现刹车动能回收,并且降低整车的物料成本。

 


瞬变性能

  • 符合相关机械要求的前提下通过消除齿轮间的余隙,直接驱动将获得最佳瞬时扭矩率(每单位时间内的扭矩变化)。因此,能在打滑的环境中精确控制车辆。

 


轴承偏转

  • 驱动扭矩需要在车辆悬架转向节和车轮之间传递。在这两个部件之间,装配着一个极灵活的配件——车轮轴承。需要配备灵活的驱动元件、偏转齿轮和/或更多轴承,以减轻轴承偏转的影响,从而造成设计复杂化。

 


封装尺寸

  • 尽管传动装置允许电机定位在车轮内离开车轴的位置,但这未必是一项优势,这限制了电机的直径,并且需将减速箱集成到车轮总成中以提高扭矩。

 

一台直驱电机的质量比高速装配齿轮的电机要轻。但是,出于上述原因,Protean采取的办法是接受质量的增加,并对簧下质量对给定车辆的行驶和操控产生的实际影响进行研究。

Read more...

所有系统级零件已经进行了安全警示评估,并根据适当的安全标准进行研发。

分析的主要项目包括:

  • 确保符合法规及标准
  • 确保系统具有安全认证
  • 确保流程有效、一致
  • 执行必要的安全性分析
  • 优化电机设计

 

主要法规及标准包括:

  • UNECE(联合国/欧盟)
    • 13/13H:制动
    • 100:纯电动汽车
  • 联邦机动车辆法规(美国)
    • 105 液压和电力制动系统
  • 汽车工程
    • 各种标准、指南及测试流程
  • IEC61508
  • ISO26262
    • 汽车领域专用IEC61508
  • 汽车添加剂
    • 流程及成型模型
  • MISRA
    • 安全性分析、C和Simulink编码指南。
重点在于开发安全完整的高级别软件。Protean基于模型的开发流程采用Simulink以及自动代码生成,已专门选定流程以符合关键安全要求。该方法允许在模拟车辆环境中进行大量测试,以及在数学模型构建时进行纠错,使其转化为ECU的可执行数据。
推动Protean电机设计的主要需求即是在现有车辆上进行改装的能力。在任何车辆开发周期内都需要3年至5年的技术准备期。但是,全球的整车OEM企业都希望立即大幅提高其所有车辆的燃油经济性,并显著消除碳排放量。少量车型无需做此改变。为混合动力车或纯电动车选择轮毂电机可最低限度改变硬件设计、把对驾乘空间的影响缩到最小、事故对车辆性能的影响缩到最小。因此,整车使用轮毂电机的优势在于不用改变车辆的设计、不用改装悬架,这些需求在Protean电机开发中起到了重大作用。

Key Features

One of the fundamental requirements Protean imposed on its in-wheel motor design from the outset was to completely remove any mechanical gearing from the motor, along with all the required bearings, lubricants and seals for such a device. This was done for several reasons:

    


Reliability/Safety

  • The reliability of the motor is fundamental to its success. There is no reliability cost to making a higher torque/lower speed motor, but there is a cost associated with the addition of gearbox components, especially considering that four separate gearboxes will be required for many vehicles.
  • A gearbox would be a single point of failure with the potential to lock a single wheel and create huge yaw movements on the vehicle with the associated safety/control issues. There is no vehicle level mitigation for such a failure mode without introducing a clutch in each wheel.
  • Making a high-reliability motor will enable regenerative-only braking on future platform rear axles, removing cost from the vehicle BOM.

 


Transient performance

  • By removing the back-lash from gears and mechanical compliance, direct drive will give the best transient torque rate (torque change per unit time) and therefore control fidelity for use in slip-control situations.

 


Bearing deflection

  • The drive torque needs to be reacted between the vehicle suspension knuckle and the wheel. In between these two components is a surprisingly flexible element – the wheel bearing. Flexible drive elements, deflection-tolerant gears and/or even more bearings would be required in order to mitigate these effects, complicating the design.

 


Package size

  • Although gearing will allow the motor to be located off-axis to the wheel, this is not necessarily an advantage and can result in heavily restricted motor diameter in order to allow retrofit capability, as well as also having to locate a gearbox into the wheel assembly.

 

A direct-drive motor will have a lower mass than a high-speed motor with gear. However, the route Protean took was to accept this mass increase for the above reasons and conduct research into the real-world effects that unsprung mass has on the ride and handling of a given vehicle.

Read more...

All parts of the system have been assessed for safety implications and are being developed to appropriate safety standards.

Key activities for the analysis include:

  • Ensure compliance with regulations and standards
  • Ensure systems are certifiably safe
  • Ensure processes are effective and conformant
  • Perform required safety analyses
  • Refine the motor design

 

Key regulations and standards include:

  • UNECE (UN/EU)
    • 13/13H : Braking
    • 100: Battery electric vehicles
  • Federal Motor Vehicle Regulations (United States)
    • 105 Hydraulic and electric brake systems
  • SAE
    • Various standards, guidelines and test procedures
  • IEC61508
  • ISO26262
    • Automotive specific version of IEC61508
  • Automotive SPICE
    • Process and maturity model
  • MISRA
    • Safety analysis, C and Simulink coding guidelines.
Major emphasis is being placed on software development for high levels of safety integrity. Protean's model-based development process using Simulink together with auto-code generation has been specifically selected for safety-critical compliance. This approach allows extensive testing in a simulated vehicle environment, together with correct-by-construction translation of mathematical models into executable software for the ECU.

A key requirement that drove Protean’s motor design was the ability to be retrofit on existing vehicles. Designing any technology into a vehicle development cycle creates lead times of 3 to 5 years. But global OEMs need to significantly increase the fuel economy of and remove significant amounts of carbon emissions from their entire fleet right now. A handful of niche vehicles will not achieve these mandates. The ability to engineer a hybrid or full EV on an existing platform, with minimal tear-up of existing hardware or intrusion into passenger, storage or accident-vulnerable space cannot be underestimated and is one of the main advantages of choosing an in-wheel motor to propel a vehicle. It is therefore highly desirable for an in-wheel motor to be able to be fitted to a car without requiring any special wheel design or requiring risky suspension modifications, and this played a large part in the development of the requirements for the Protean motor.