新的规则

燃油经济性规定2015年车辆要达到35.5英里/加仑,到2025年要达到54.5英里/加仑,全球的排放法规变得越来越严格。
人们只能在昂贵的或者复杂的混合动力系统中进行选择。
工程资源与工程预算只会越来越稀缺。

无论您是在工程,先进技术,商业车队或者是任何相关的领域,如果您希望改善车辆的燃油经济性,您无疑会听到关于轮内电机或轮毂电机的某些信息。

当然,现在所描述的轮毂电机系统并不能准确的概括Protean Drive™驱动系统。那是因为迄今为止轮毂电机的应用方案并没有为现今的燃油经济性,车辆操控性,车辆整体性能以及耐久性做好准备。这导致许多工程与技术人员错过了接触这项技术的机会并最终导致这项技术实路运用的推迟。

但是我们希望您能重新考虑轮毂电机技术

历史回顾

每个车轮配备单独轮毂电机驱动车辆的概念并不是一个全新的想法。早在1900年的巴黎世博会,System Lohner-Porsche电动车首次面向公众展示。这款车是由保时捷公司的创始人费迪南德保时捷设计,这也是他在汽车行业第一份与JacabLohner合作的工作。System Lohner-Porsche是由两个轮毂电机驱动的电动车,这台车可以达到每小时35英里的速度,并且刷新了奥地利的多项汽车速度纪录。

由于这台车的成功,费尔南迪.保时捷将戴姆勒和Panhard的内燃机与发电机连接为轮毂电机提供电源。世界第一台串联混合动力汽车(SHEV)“System Mixt.”

A_NEW_PARADIGM

采用两个或者四个轮毂电机的保时捷纯电动或者串联式混合动力车打破了多项速度纪录,并最终让费尔南迪.保时捷以最佳奥地利汽车设计师的名义得到了1905年德国佩廷奖。右侧的图片展示了保时捷在那时期开发的汽车,轮毂电机可以清楚的看到被装配在车辆的前轮。

最终保时捷的轮毂电机方案以运用在超过200辆速递车的轮毂中作为收尾。保时捷所创造的纪录(从速度纪录,设计奖项和商务车的应用)最终导致保时捷先生能与梅赛德斯,大众公司合作以形成保时捷工程的架构组织(最终形成今天的保时捷汽车公司。)

在过去的110年中,轮毂电机被广泛的应用在不同的工业领域包括(采矿设备、土方工程设备、轨道车辆以及军事应用。)在二十一世纪的前十年,当纯电动汽车与燃料电池汽车重新进入了人们的视线,轮毂电机再次盛行。这是最近十年Protean Drive的轮毂电机设计(一种简洁的,能有效的实现燃油经济性与改善排放并增加车辆性能与可靠性的技术概念。)能重新进入汽车行业的缘由。

Protean Drive™是一种独一无二、能应用在各种技术需要中的专利系统。

设计

Protean轮毂电机从研发之初就是就是为车用轮毂所打造。早期的汽车制造商没有适合的选择方案而是直接选用工业电机修改后用于车轮。

通常的情况车用发动机的初衷是能够提供高转速与低扭矩(一台传统的轿车发动机的转速范围为3000-6000转)。减速箱用来降低转速并增加扭矩一适应车轮的输出需求。例如,当一台配备18英寸的车轮的汽车达到每小时75英里时他的转速是1000转。纯电动车与混合动力车使用与传统车同样的策略,高转速与低扭矩并通过一台减速箱来实现车轮低转速高扭矩的需求。

Protean Electric使用一种完全不同的策略来设计轮毂电机应用。Protean Drive™电机是一种低转速,高扭矩,直驱设计(不需要传统的减速箱)。扭矩是施加于半径处的力,为了能有效的增加扭矩,电机上决定扭矩的部件(线圈与磁性材料)需要尽可能向直接最大处移动。Protean Drive™电机是一种“由内而外”的设计,将磁性材料安装至定子外侧的转子上(取代了普通电机所使用的旋转中心轴)。

普通电机通常配有外部逆变器/电力电子元件箱,逆变器的尺寸和重量通常与电机本身的尺寸和重量相近,在有限的车辆空间内封装两个“箱子”(电机和逆变器)是有一定难度的。轮毂电机的一项主要优势在于:可以节省车辆的内部空间,从而提供更大的货物及行李装载空间和/或更多的蓄电池装载空间。如果轮毂电机需要在车辆内部安装单独的逆变器,此优势将不复存在。

Protean的外转子-内定子式设计在电机的内部预留了一个环形空间,用于装载电力电子元件/逆变器。普通的逆变器需要在高压时(数百伏)切换大电流(数百安培),这些大型、专业、昂贵的重型元件会产生大量热量,且通常需要单独的冷却系统。Protean采用的方法是使用几个较小的微型逆变器,每个逆变器可在数百伏电压时切换数十安培的电流。此种设计意味着,切换元件可以更小、更轻、更便宜、更接近现成的设计(无需改装),且占用更小的空间。

使用多个微型逆变器的理念所提供的灵活性不仅意味着可以将微型逆变器封装在Protean Drive™电机内部独立的“环形”空间内,而且还可以全面节省空间。如果其中一个子电机发生故障(例如在配有8个子电机的Protean Drive™电机中),另外7个/共8个电机仍以其最佳性能工作(与只配有一个单独逆变器的普通电机不同的是,任何一个逆变器发生故障时都不会影响整个电机的工作)。

Protean集成微型逆变器理念的另一大优势在于线圈和微型逆变器可以共享集成在电机中的同一液冷系统和散热器。Protean Drive™轮毂电机的低转速、高扭矩、直驱设计概念(配有集成的微型逆变器)不仅可以减小油电混合动力传动系统的尺寸/重量,而且能够简化车辆集成;Protean Drive™电机几乎可以安装在任何常规车辆上,无需改装动力系统。

簧下质量:

轮毂电机封装优势所面临的一项挑战在于将动力传动系统质量从簧载质量移到下簧质量时所需的平衡。通常,簧下质量增加时所面临的挑战在于,簧下质量/簧载质量的阈值,当超出阈值时,将很难控制车辆并影响驾乘体验。

莲花工程是汽车悬架及操控方面备受尊崇的权威公司之一,其利用几个典型的轮毂电机规格进行了一项研究,以验证这个观点。论文采用客观、主观及数字分析,调查了车辆簧下质量增加时所产生的影响。其调查结果表明,与汽车行业的普遍观点形成对照,簧下质量远称不上一个问题。研究还得出结论,通过已定义的开发技术可实现顶级的性能。欲获详情,请单击此处查看完整白皮书。

莲花工程的研究表明,当簧下质量明显增加时,驾驶员一般无法察觉这细微的增量。通过在产品开发周期内应用标准的工程工艺,即可轻松克服其变化及变化程度。此外,该研究还表明,对单个轮毂电机的控制能使车辆动力性、安全性、性能及操控性方面得到大幅改善。

A New Paradigm

Fuel economy regulations of 35.5 mpg by 2015 and 54.5 mpg by 2025.
Increasingly stringent global emissions regulations.
A limited choice of costly, complex hybrid systems.
Scarce engineering resources and even scarcer engineering budgets.

Whether you’re in engineering, advanced technology, commercial fleets or any related field, if you impact vehicle fuel efficiency at all, you’ve no doubt heard something about in-wheel or wheel hub motors.

However, much of what’s considered common knowledge about in-wheel motors doesn’t accurately describe the Protean Drive™ system. That’s because wheel motors demonstrated to date haven’t been ready for today’s demands of fuel efficiency, vehicle handling, performance and durability. That’s led many engineers and technologists to dismiss the technology out of hand as not ready for real-road prime time.

But we’d like you to Reconsider the Wheel.

A quick history

The concept of having an individual in-wheel motor driving each wheel of a vehicle is not a new idea. In 1900 at the World’s Fair in Paris, the ‘System Lohner-Porsche’ was debuted. This vehicle was designed by Ferdinand Porsche; the man who gives his name to the Porsche car company, at his first job in the automotive field working with Jacob Lohner. The ‘System Lohner-Porsche’ was an electric vehicle driven by two in-wheel motors; this vehicle was capable of over 35mph and set several Austrian speed records.

Following on the success of this vehicle, Ferdinand Porsche then utilized Daimler’s and Panhard’s internal combustion engines connected to generators to provide power for the in-wheel motors; thus creating the world’s first series hybrid vehicle (SHEV), the “System Mixt.”

Porsche’s in-wheel motor–driven vehicles in both electric and series hybrid configurations continued to claim more speed records in both two- and four-wheel drive configurations, eventually resulting in Ferdinand Porsche winning the 1905 Poetting Prize as Austria’s outstanding automotive designer. The image at right shows one of Porsche’s vehicles from this period – the in-wheel motors can clearly be seen mounted in the front wheels.

Eventually Porsche ended up with a fleet of over 200 delivery vehicles that utilized in-wheel motors. Porsche’s recognition (from the speed records, design prizes and commercial vehicle fleet) led to Porsche’s work with Mercedes, Volkswagen and eventually the formation of Porsche Engineering (and ultimately today’s Porsche car company).

Over the last 110 years, in-wheel motors have been used in a wide variety of different industries including mining equipment, earthmoving equipment, rail vehicles and military applications. In the first decade of the new millennium, when battery electric and fuel cell vehicles were coming back into the limelight, the wheel hub motor popped up again. This very well could be the decade where in-wheel motors return to their automotive origins with the Protean Drive™ design – an elegant and comparatively simple concept that achieves fuel economy and emissions improvements while maintaining (or improving) vehicle performance and reliability.

Protean Drive™ is a unique, patented system that addresses the needs of this demanding application in a variety of ways:

Design

Protean’s in-wheel motors were designed from the beginning to be in-wheel motors. Earlier iterations by automakers were not optimized since they simply took a typical industrial motor and modified it to fit into a wheel.

Typically the engine of a vehicle is designed to deliver high speed and low torque (a traditional car engine would operate around 3,000 to 6,000rpm). A gearbox is used to lower this speed (and increase the torque) to that required at the wheels, for example, an 18-inch road wheel on a vehicle doing 75 miles per hour will rotate at approximately 1,000rpm. In conventional electric/ hybrid vehicles the same principles are applied: A high speed, low torque in-board electric motor driving through a gearbox to deliver the lower speed and higher torque required at the wheels.

Protean Electric™ took a completely different approach and designed its motors specifically for in-wheel applications. The Protean Drive™ motors are a low speed, high torque, direct drive design (where no gearbox is required). Torque is simply a force acting at a radius, in order to maximize the torque, the parts of the motor that generate the torque (the coils and magnets) are mounted on as large a diameter as possible. The Protean Drive™ motors are an ‘inside-out’ design with the magnets mounted to the rotor which sits on the outside of the stator (instead of having a rotating central shaft in a conventional electric motor).

A conventional electric motor usually has an external inverter/ power electronics box – often this inverter is a similar size and weight to the electric motor itself, resulting in the difficulty of packaging two ‘boxes’ (the electric motor and inverter) in the limited space inside a vehicle. One of the major advantages offered by in-wheel motors is the amount of space freed up inside the vehicle, resulting in more cargo and luggage capacity and/ or more space for batteries. This advantage is diminished if the in-wheel motors need separate inverters mounted inside the vehicle.

Protean’s external rotor-internal stator design leaves a toroidal (doughnut) shaped space inside the motor which Protean has utilized to house the power electronics/ inverters. A conventional inverter needs to switch high currents (hundreds of amps) at high voltage (several hundred volts), which requires large, specialist, expensive, heavy components that generate a lot of heat and usually require a separate cooling system. Protean’s approach was to use several smaller micro-inverters, each switching several tens of amps at several hundred volts. This design means that the switching components can be smaller, lighter, cheaper, nearer to an ‘off-the-shelf’ design and take up less space.

The flexibility offered by the multiple micro-inverter concept not only means that the micro-inverters can be packaged inside the spare ‘toroidal’ space inside the Protean Drive™ motors, but also gives multiple levels of redundancy. If one sub-motor fails (for example in a Protean Drive™ motor with 8 sub-motors) then the motors continue to operate at 7/8 of their maximum performance (unlike a conventional electric motor design with a separate inverter, where any inverter failure causes the entire motor to be inoperable).

Another benefit of Protean’s integrated micro-inverter concept is the fact that both the coils and the micro-inverters can share the same liquid cooling system and heatsink (also integrated into the motor). The low-speed, high-torque, direct-drive design of the Protean Drive™ in-wheel motor concept (with integrated micro-inverters) both reduces the size/weight of the electric drivetrain and simplifies vehicle integration; the Protean Drive™ motors can be mounted to virtually any conventional vehicle, without the need to modify the drivetrain.

Unsprung mass:

A common challenge to the packaging advantages of in-wheel motors is the perceived trade-off required by moving the drivetrain mass from the sprung to the unsprung mass. This increased unsprung mass is often challenged with the belief that there is an unsprung mass/sprung mass ratio threshold, beyond which the vehicle will become difficult to control and uncomfortable riding.

Lotus Engineering, one of the most well respected authorities on vehicle suspension and handling, performed a study to test this notion, using the specifications of several typical in-wheel motors. These papers used objective, subjective and numerical analysis to investigate the effects of increased unsprung mass on a vehicle. The outcome of their investigations was that unsprung mass is far less of an issue than some of the prevailing opinions in the automotive community had believed. The studies also concluded that top-of-the-segment performance can be achieved with already defined development techniques. For more detailed information, please click here to see the full white papers.

The Lotus study concluded that while perceptible differences emerge with increased unsprung mass, on the whole they are small and unlikely to be apparent to an average driver. The nature and magnitude of the changes can be easily overcome by applying normal engineering processes within a product development cycle. The study also indicated that control of individual wheel motors shows good potential for substantial improvements in vehicle dynamics, safety, performance and handling.